The Act

The Congressional Accountability Act (CAA), enacted in 1995, applies thirteen employment, civil rights, safety & health, and labor laws to the Congressional workplace and its associated agencies, requiring them to follow many of the same workplace laws applied to the private and public sectors. The CAA also established the Office of Compliance.

The thirteen laws currently applied, in whole or in part, by the CAA include:

• Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967 (ADEA)
• Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA)
• Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (Title VII)
• Employee Polygraph Protection Act of 1988 (EPPA)
• Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938 (FLSA)
• Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 (FMLA)
• Federal Service Labor-Management Relations Statute (FSLMRA)
• Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 (OSH Act)
• Rehabilitation Act of 1973
• Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Act (USERRA)
• Veterans’ Employment Opportunities Act (VEOA)
• Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification Act (WARN)
• Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act of 2008 (GINA)

For complete information please refer to the Congressional Accountability Act (2 U.S.C. 1301 et seq.)